Motor Vehicles

 MOTOR VEHICLE LINKS FROM STATE OF ALABAMA


Check Status of Electronic Title

Search for Personalized Tags

Vehicle Information Check

Specialty Plates

Collegiate Plates

Generic Specialty Plates

Military Plates

Generic Racing Plates

Antique Plates (Trucks)

Antique Plates (Cars)

Antique Plates (Motorcycles)

Title/Registration/IRP/IFTA Forms

Mandatory Liability Insurance

Mandatory Liability Insurance Manual

Title FAQS

IRP/IFTA FAQS

Registration FAQS

 

ALABAMA VEHICLE REGISTRATION SCHEDULE. ALABAMA REGISTERS VEHICLES BASED ON FIRST LETTER OF LAST NAME.

January     A & D    
           
February     B    
           
March     C & E    
           
April     F, G & N    
           
May     H & O    
           
June     M & I    
           
July     P & L    
           
August     J, K & R    
           
September   Q, S & T    
           
October     U, V, W, X, Y, Z  
           
November   Commercial and Fleet Vehicles, IRP and National Guard.
         

DOWNLOADABLE MOTOR VECHICLE FORMS FROM LEE COUNTY (PDF FORMAT)

 

ATTENTION LEE COUNTY TAXPAYERS:

  • PER ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, LICENSE PLATES CANNOT BE RENEWED WITHOUT A VALID ALABAMA DRIVERS LICENSE.
  • NEW ALABAMA RESIDENTS MUST OBTAIN AN ALABAMA DRIVERS LICENSE WITHIN 30 DAYS OF ENTERING THE STATE.
  • NEW RESIDENTS MUST REGISTER THEIR VEHICLES WITHIN 30 DAYS OF ENTERING THE STATE.

 

AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE/INDENTIFICATION

Beginning January 1, 2013, license plate issuing officials will attempt to verify liability insurance utilizing the State of Alabama Online Insurance Verification System (OIVS), which will allow license plate issuing officials to immediately verify the insurance status of a vehicle at any point in time.

In addition to providing evidence of insurance, a valid state issued driver license, non-driver identification card or national driver license must be provided for EACH owner reflected on the vehicle title. If the vehicle owner is a company, the federal employer identification number (FEIN) is required.

 

COLLECTION OF ESCAPED TAXES 

Motor vehicles with delinquent registrations are subject to payment of escaped ad valorem taxes for up to two prior years plus the current year when it can be determined a tax lien has attached to the property and the taxes have not been paid, except for the ad valorem taxes that would have been due in arrears for the 1999 tax year. 

The two prior years plus the current tax year should be based on the taxpayer's tax years if ownership of the vehicle has not changed. If the ownership of vehicle has changed, the two prior years should be based on the previous owner's tax years, and the current tax year should be based on the date the next tax lien attached to the motor vehicle. 

However, when a new owner of a used vehicle registers the newly acquired vehicle and it cannot be determined when the tax lien attached or if the taxes have been paid on the vehicle, collect one preceding tax year (12 months - no interest or penalty) as provided in 40- 12-253, Code of Alabama 1975 in addition to the current tax year, except for the ad valorem taxes that would have been due in arrears for the 1999 tax year. The preceding tax year should be the 12 months prior to the acquired date of the vehicle.
 

BACK TO TOP>>
 

NEW RESIDENTS

CHANGE IN TITLE REQUIREMENTS FOR VEHICLES WITH AN OUT OF STATE LIEN:

PER THE ALABAMA DEPARTMENT, SECTION 32-8-31 (4), CODE OF ALABAMA 1975, HAS BEEN AMENDED SO THAT NO CERTIFICATE OF TITLE SHALL BE ISSUED FOR A VEHICLE FOR WHICH THE ALABAMA LICENSE PLATE ISSUING OFFICIAL HAS VERIFIED THAT THE CURRENT OWNER OR OPERATOR IS RECORDED AS THE OWNER OR OPERATOR ON A CURRENTLY EFFECTIVE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE ISSUED BY ANOTHER STATE AND THE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE IS BEING HELD BY A RECORDED LIENHOLDER.

The license plate issuing official shall obtain a copy of the out of state certificate of title or printout of the electronic out of state certificate of title and verify that the owner or operator registering the vehicle is recorded on the out of state certificate of title or printout.

 

VEHICLE INSPECTION

PER CODE OF ALABAMA RULING 810-5-5.13, a physical inspection of a motor vehicle and verification of the vehicle identification number and the descriptive data shown on the application is required only for first certificates of title, including certificates of title for the following:

 

(a)  New Vehicles - Application for first title.

(b)  Out-of-State Vehicles - Brought into   Alabama requiring registration and titling in this State and surrendering of out-of-state title.

(c)  Other Vehicles - Not currently titled in Alabama and subject to registration and titling in this State.
 

BACK TO TOP>>
 

AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE

Beginning June 1, 2000, motorists will be required to carry liability insurance on each motor vehicle. Failure to show proof of coverage at traffic stops could result in a fine of up to $500. Beginning January 1, 2001, an insurance certification was incorporated into the motor vehicle registration form which the customer signs before registration is complete."

 

NEW/USED PURCHASES

  • In order to avoid a $15 late registration fee, newly acquired vehicles must be registered within 20 calendar days of purchase.
  • Documentation needed for the purchase of a new/used vehicle depends on who the vehicle was purchased from.

Customers with vehicles purchased from an Alabama Dealer:

  • The application for title is required.
  • Bill of sale is required.

Customers with vehicles purchased from out of state dealers:

  • Will be required to pay sales tax
  • Possibly apply for a title for the vehicle

Customers with vehicles purchased from an individual:

  • Will be required to pay sales tax.
  • Apply for a title.
  • If the vehicle was last registered in Alabama, ad valorem taxes will have to be brought current before the vehicle can be registered.
  • Please see notice below concerning escape Ad Valorem taxes on used vehicles purchased from individuals.

 

BACK TO TOP>>
 

Required documentation is listed below.

Alabama dealer:

  • Application for Title.
  • Sales invoice (Bill of Sale) to verify sales tax was paid
  • Tag receipt from old vehicle if transferring tag from a trade in.
  • Ask about credit voucher on vehicle traded in or sold.
  • Sales invoice from dealer will need to show trade in listed to receive credit voucher.
  • If not, then you will need written confirmation of disposal of vehicle with dealer.
  • Documentation must be original documents. Faxed copies cannot be accepted.

 

Out-of-state dealer:

  • Original Title or Application for Title (or MSO/Certificate of Origin if new vehicle).
  • Sales Invoice (Bill of Sale) to see how much sales tax is owed.
  • Tag receipt from old vehicle if transferring tag from a trade in.
  • Ask about credit voucher on vehicle traded in or sold.
  • Sales invoice from dealer will need to show trade in listed to receive credit voucher. If not, then you will need written confirmation of disposal of vehicle with dealer.
  • Documentation must be original documents. Faxed copies cannot be accepted.

 

Individual (Alabama):

  • Original Title (or Application for Title if financed) Bill of Sale with purchase price and signed by former owner.    Tag receipt from old vehicle if transferring a tag from former vehicle.
  • If transaction is between two individuals and selling price is below fair market value, the signatures of both buyer and seller must be notarized. This includes GIFT transactions as well.
  • Bill of sale from old vehicle if applying for credit voucher.
  • Ask about credit voucher for vehicle traded in or sold.
  • Vehicle is subject to escape taxes of up to two years if current tag receipt from former owner is not provided. See notice below.
     

COLLECTION OF ESCAPED TAXES

Motor vehicles with delinquent registrations are subject to payment of escaped ad valorem taxes for up to two prior years plus the current year when it can be determined a tax lien has attached to the property and the taxes have not been paid, except for the ad valorem taxes that would have been due in arrears for the 1999 tax year. 

The two prior years plus the current tax year should be based on the taxpayer's tax years if ownership of the vehicle has not changed. If the ownership of vehicle has changed, the two prior years should be based on the previous owner's tax years, and the current tax year should be based on the date the next tax lien attached to the motor vehicle. 

However, when a new owner of a used vehicle registers the newly acquired vehicle and it cannot be determined when the tax lien attached or if the taxes have been paid on the vehicle, collect one preceding tax year (12 months - no interest or penalty) as provided in 40- 12-253, Code of Alabama 1975 in addition to the current tax year, except for the ad valorem taxes that would have been due in arrears for the 1999 tax year. The preceding tax year should be the 12 months prior to the acquired date of the vehicle.

 

Individual (Out of State):

  • Original Title (or Application for Title if financed).
  • Notarized bill of sale with purchase price and signed by previous owner.
  • If transaction is between two individuals and selling price is below fair market value, the signatures of both buyer and seller must be notarized. This includes GIFT transactions as well.
  • Tag receipt from old vehicle if transferring a tag from former vehicle.
  • Bill of sale from old vehicle if applying for credit voucher.
  • Ask about credit voucher on vehicle traded in or sold.
  • If vehicle is not titled in other state, a copy of complete registration from other state, signed by previous owner.

 

BACK TO TOP>>

RENEWALS

ATTENTION ACTIVE DUTY PERSONNEL:

In order to receive the military ad valorem tax exemption, you must provide a form from from JAG office stating elegibility  and home of record. We also require a copy of your current LES. If you do not have the JAG form, you may come in person to sign affidavit. Please bring a current photo ID.

 

ATTENTION SPOUSES:

If you cannot obtain the JAG from, you can bring in a power of attorney in order to sign the affidavit in our office. We also need a copy of spouse's current LES and a current photo ID.

 

ONLINE RENEWALS

  • Tags renewals can be made up until midnight of the last day of the month. Anyone renewing after that day will be charged a $15.00 penalty and will be required to come into the office
  • Decals, tags, and tag receipts will be mailed out as soon as possible after they are renewed.
  • A printable receipt will be available for proof of online payment only. Not to be used as a valid tag receipt.
  • Vehicle owner must be a resident of Lee County.
  • Online customers will be charged a 1.9% convenience fee, $.30 processing fee, and a mail fee of $2.00.
  • If your renewal notice or current registration has an incorrect address please contact our office.
  • A change from a regular plate to a personalized must be transacted in our office.
  • A change from personalized plate to regular plate must be transacted in our office.
  • If there is problem processing your renewal, we will attempt to contact you by phone Monday thru Friday between the hours of 8:30 am and 4:30 pm. If we are unable to reach you we will void your registration and refund your payment.
  • Any transaction requiring an affidavit or supporting documents, please see information below.

You may renew your tags online by clicking HERE.  

 

NOTE:  Before renewing online, please read disclaimer below concerning supporting documentation for some renewals

 

ONLINE TAG RENEWAL REQUIRING SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS

IF YOUR TAG RENEWALS INVOLVE THE FOLLOWING, WE WILL NEED SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS BEFORE MAILING YOUR TAG. YOU MAY SUBMIT PAYMENT FOR THESE TYPE RENEWALS ONLINE, BUT THIS OFFICE RESERVES THE RIGHT TO WITHHOLD MAILING OF TAGS &/OR DECALS UNTIL DOCUMENTATION IS RECEIVED IN THIS OFFICE.

1.  National Guard Tag:  Certificate of Eligibility from Guard Unit

2.  US Reserve Tag:  Certificate of Eligibility from Reserve Unit

3.  FOP Tag :  Current Membership Card

4.  Firefighter Tag:  Letter from Chief stating eligibility

5.  Military Ad Valorem Tax Exemption:  Form from JAG office stating eligibility and home of record. We also require a copy of your   current LES

 

RENEWAL BY MAIL

  • A courtesy registration reminder is mailed for each vehicle that is currently registered in Lee County.
  • The reminders are mailed the first few days of each renewal month.
  • Although these courtesy reminders are mailed, it is still the responsibility of the vehicle owner to make sure the vehicle is registered and fees paid on time.
  • Before mailing, the owner of record will need to sign the notice and fill in their drivers license number and expiration date.
  • Late renewals cannot be handled by mail. Owner will need to come into the office the handle late registrations.
  • Military Ad Valorem Tax Exemption Form from JAG office stating eligibility and home of record. We also require a copy of your current LES

 

RENEWAL IN PERSON

  • Please bring your courtesy reminder or a copy of the last registration with you when renewing in person.
  • The Alabama drivers license and insurance card of each owner of record is also required.
  • The best time to renew your tag in person is between the 11th and 25th of the month.  Mondays and Fridays are high activity days in the office, along with the first working day following holidays.
  • You may pay with credit/debit cards at the counter. You will be charged a 2.2% convenience fee, $.30 processing fee. These fees goes directly to the provider.
  • Vehicles that are renewed late are subject to a $15 late fee. Vehicles not driven during the expiration/renewal month may sign a non use affidavit to avoid the penalty.
  • All ad valorem tax must be brought current regardless of use of vehicle.
  • Military Ad Valorem Tax Exemption Form from JAG office stating eligibility and home of record. We also require a copy of your current LES

 

NEW RESIDENTS FROM ANOTHER ALABAMA COUNTY

Residents moving from another Alabama county will need to bring in the renewal reminder or the previous year's registration, proof of insurance and your Alabama drivers license in order to obtain Lee county plates. You may wait until your renewal month to switch the registration.

 

BACK TO TOP>>

 

NEWS

ONLINE VERIFICATION OF LIABILITY INSURANCE

  • In the near future, the State of Alabama will begin online verification of mandatory vehicle liability insurance. When in place, insurance cards will have to be presented to register any motor vehicle.  VIEW Brochure on OIVS.  


NO MORE PHONE SUPPORT FOR TITLE INQUIRIES

  • New email service replaces title inquiry telephone service.  Per memo dated April 25, 2008, the Department of Revenue is discontinuing telephone service for motor vehicle title inquiries. All customers are to be directed to send email inquiries to titles@revenue.alabama.gov
  • The memo states that the Department of Revenue is receiving over 200,000 calls per month on the telephone system and it is impossible to maintain enough staff to handle this volume of calls.
  • Customers can also check vehicle information on the http://www.revenue.alabama.gov website or follow the links at the top of this page.

 

BACK TO TOP>>